YWAM Heroes of History: A Review

Dear Homeschooler,YWAM Heroes of History

Our school year has been winding down, and I don’t know about you, but I am ready for a slower pace. As we have been finishing up our core curricula, we’ve had some time to fill with some more fun and relaxing material, and what is more enjoyable than settling down with a good book? Nothing, I tell you! And that is exactly what we had in YWAM Publishing‘s Heroes of History Series. We’ve been reading and learning about one of the greatest U.S. presidents in this book entitled Heroes of History: Theodore Roosevelt by Janet & Geoff Benge.

The Heroes of History Series provides a look into the stories of many great men and women of history:

  • Alan Shepard
  • Abraham Lincoln
  • Ben Carson
  • Benjamin Franklin
  • Billy Graham
  • Captain John Smith
  • Christopher Columbus
  • Clara Barton
  • Daniel Boone
  • Davy Crockett
  • Douglas MacArthur
  • Elizabeth Fry
  • Ernest Shackleton
  • George Washington Carver
  • George Washington
  • Harriet Tubman
  • John Adams
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • Louis Zamperini
  • Meriwether Louis
  • Milton Hershey
  • Orville Wright
  • Ronald Reagan
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • Thomas Edison
  • William Bradford
  • William Penn
  • William Wilberforce

Furthermore, the Heroes of History Series is a great resource for expanding your student’s learning beyond just reading another novel. It provides biographies, a curriculum unit study, and fun, bonus material.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.00.18 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Curriculum Unit Study

One of the most helpful resources YWAM Publishing provides is the unit guides and unit studies for their Heroes of History books.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 11.01.09 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The unit guide is jam-packed with ideas that will help direct and extend your student’s learning and can be applied to any of the historical books above. It gives many options depending how you want to use it. You can use it as a full-fledge history curriculum and really dig deep; you can use is as a cross-subject unit topic and study not only its historical significance but also stretch it to other classes such as geography, writing, reading, public speaking, drama, and art; or you can use it as a read-loud or as supplemental material for a character study. It is also easily adapted to multiple teaching styles and learning abilities.

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 8.51.12 AM

In addition to the guide, each novel has its own unit study with ideas and activities centered around the book itself and the hero it portrays, including key quotes, instructions for a learning display, chapter questions, student projects and writing assignments, community links and field trip planning, and social studies (places, time, vocabulary, etc.). Below is a screenshot of some of the hands-on project suggestions for Theodore Roosevelt appropriate for my students:

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 9.49.49 AM

The unit study is designed to appeal to many levels: if the project list in the above example is too elementary, be assured that there are suggestions that would appeal to a more mature student. Printable worksheets, such as pertinent maps, a timeline with list of events, and a fact sheet, can also be found in the unit study. Bonus materials includes word puzzles, crossword puzzles, coloring pages, interviews, and more.

 

My Opinion

We really enjoyed reading Theodore Roosevelt: An American Original. It is well-written –interesting enough to hold the attention of the whole family when read aloud yet simple enough for my second-grader to read independently and understand with ease. We did pick and choose which pieces of the curriculum unit study fit our learning style and timeframe: That very flexibility — its adaptability to different teaching styles and learning abilities — is its greatest asset. We have a deeper appreciation for Roosevelt’s accomplishments, particularly the National Parks. We were able to take a field trip to the Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas and did the junior ranger program to top off our unit study.

IMG_9332

IMG_9212

IMG_9320

Have you read any of the History of Heroes book series by YWAM Publishing? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below.

Till Next Time,

Jennifer

 

 

Christian & History Heroes {YWAM Publishing Reviews}
Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Reply